History Timeline

1969 The original Belles. Sheila is 3rd from left back row.

1977 Townsend Cup winners.

1983 FA Cup winners.

1983 FA Cup winners.

1987 FA Cup winners.

1988 FA Cup winners.

1990 FA Cup winners.

1991 The Belles’ first season in the Women’s National Premier League.

1993 League & Cup Double Squad.

1994 FA Cup winners – Sheila Edmunds with family.

1995 squad.

1996 Kay Mellor produces TV drama (Playing The Field) based on the club.

1998 squad.

2002 FA Cup Final squad.

2003 John Buckley takes over as Manager.

2006 Sheffield & Hallamshire County Cup winners.

2006 One of the last photos taken at the old Belle Vue ground.

2007 The Belles in their new home – the Keepmoat Stadium.

2008 Sheila receives the FA Special Achievement Award from Sir Trevor Brooking.

2008 Sheila receives the Torch Trophy Trust Award from Prince Edward.

2009 squad.

2008 The Belles are selected as a founding member of the new FAWSL to be launched in April 2011 following a long and complicated bidding process. They join: Arsenal, Birmingham, Bristol, Chelsea, Everton, Lincoln and Liverpool as one of the elite 8 of English women’s football.

2011 Vicky Exley scores the Belles first FA WSL goal away at Lincoln Ladies in a 1-0 victory.

2012 FA WSL Squad

2013 After a tough couple of years in the FAWSL, Gordon Staniforth is appointed as Head Coach at the end of the 2013 season, and is tasked with restoring the Belles to their former glory.

2013 Staniforth has to start in FA WSL 2, as the Belles are moved to the second tier as part of the FA’s ‘Game Changer’ initiative.

2014 The 2014 season begins successfully, and the Belles record a historic victory over Manchester City.

2015 The Belles secure promotion back into FA WSL 1 under the helm of head coach Glen Harris (appointed in December 2014).